New Hat and Free Pattern – Vinter Hat!

Ah, fair isle… I love it so, but my hands don’t! One of my resolutions for 2012 is to complete a fair isle sweater, and if I’m *ever* going to reach that goal, I have some serious work to do. I designed this hat as a way to start training my hands to cooperate while holding two strands of yarn at once. To all the stranded-color hopefuls out there, I recommend giving this a shot! By the end of the straight section of the hat, I was feeling much more comfortable!

Vinter Hat

(This is a very basic teaser shot, I’ll be replacing it when I get a chance to do a real photo shoot.)

Yarn:

  • Main color (MC) – Patons Classic Wool, 100% pure new wool, 223 yds/100 g, Woodrose Heather, approximately 110 yards needed
  • Contrast color (CC) – Lion Brand Fisherman’s Wool, 100% pure virgin wool, 465 yds/227 g, Oatmeal, approximately 30 yards needed (I think?)

Supplies:
1 16″ size 8 (5.0mm) needle
1 16″ size 4 (3.5mm) needle
4 size 8 DPNs
1 stitch marker

Gauge:
4.5 sts and 6 rows per inch over flea pattern
4 sts and 7 rows per inch over ribbing

Lice Pattern:
Row 1 – k 1 MC, k 1 CC
Row 2 – K all in MC
Row 3 – K 1 CC, K 1 MC
Row 4 – K all in MC

Pattern:

Cast on 80 stitches loosely (I suggest using the sz 8 needle to cast on).
With the size 4 needle (or whatever is needed to obtain gauge), work in k2p2 ribbing for 20 rows.
Switch to the size 8 needle, (K 5, make one stitch) all around, you now have 96 stitches
K 1 round in MC
Work in lice pattern for approximately 4″ (for me, this was 6 repeats), and end with either row 1 or row 3.
Start decreasing – Instead of either row 2 or 4 in Flea pattern, (k 14, k 2 together) all around with MC.
Work next row in Flea pattern
(K 13, K 2 together) all around with MC.
Work next row in Flea pattern

Continue like this until you have 48 stitches on the needles (switching to DPNs when needed).
At this point, continue in Flea pattern but decrease on *every* round now.
When 12 stitches remain on the needles, break yarn and pull through the remaining stitches.

Sew in all ends, lightly block (the body of the hat, *not* the ribbing), and enjoy!

(IF YOU KNIT THIS PATTERN, please let me know what you think of it! Hit me up at through.the.looking@gmail.com with any questions, comments, errors, or just to say hi!)

About Alice

Massage therapist, knitter, baker, animal lover, reformed pack-rat, sometimes-dancer, car-singer, and so much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

